Prayer in the Ruins: Coventry

Coventry Cathedral together with the City of Coventry were totally destroyed during World War II although quite a distance from my home town, my Mom told me that the fiery glow in the sky was clearly seen from here.

A visit to the New Cathedral on a warm, sunny day last year made it possible to sit on a bench in the ruins to eat lunch and to read on the Prayer Panels in the ruins of the old one, the following prayer.

HALLOWED BE THY NAME

In Industry: God be in my hands
And in my making.
in the Arts: God be in my senses
And in my creating.
In the Home: God be in my heart
And in my loving.
In Commerce: God be at my desk
And in my trading.
In Suffering: God be in my pain
And in my enduring.
In Governance: God be in my plans
And in my deciding.
In Education: God be in my mind
And in my growing.
In Recreation: God be in my limbs
And in my leisure.

Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord God of Hosts,
Heaven and earth are full of thy glory.

The prayer of a great city and its people, for a City is no city withouts it’s people, and all people need to belong. In Jeremiah (chapter 29:v7) Gods people are told to pray for the city to which they have been exiled, ‘because if it prospers, you to will prosper.’ Wise counsel, worth remembering.

One thought on “Prayer in the Ruins: Coventry

Leave a Reply

