Considering the Ironing Basket

I think there are very few women who have not, at one time or another been heard to say, “I haven’t a thing to wear.” A special occasion is certain to throw us into panic mode. Oh, the trauma of searching the shops for something special! And, why is it that the need for something special always crops up when pennies are in short supply?

Have you looked into your ironing basket lately!

I found myself murmuring the following words in gratitude when the colours in my own caught my eye this morning.

Look at my ironing basket, Lord!
Newly washed, clean and fresh;
Soft shades of pink and blue and gentle green,
Flowery sprigs,
Here and there a silky sheen.

Lord, I am provided for,
Clothed, like a lily of the field…
Tomorrow I surrender to you,
And take no concern,
My needs are already met.

Sorry, I am not a poet, nor an artist who can do justice to the Lord’s providing in word or paint, all I can do is offer my gratitude to One who is always faithful and sees my need, before I ask.

‘And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.’ (Matthew 6: 28,29 e.s.v.)

Published by

whisperingleavesblog

I'm grateful to God for all the blessings of this life but a pilgrim on earth and a stranger. Blessed with many friendships, happy to be a friend to all who are seeking ....

4 thoughts on “Considering the Ironing Basket”

Leave a Reply

