Room For The Books

“Jesus did many other things as well. If everyone of them were written down, i suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.”

I have always loved book. The number of books around my home testify to that. As a school girl I was a frequent visitor to our local ‘Carnegie’ Library. It would be true to say that I knew those books and shelves as well as the librarians did. Sadly that library is now empty, abandoned, and I cannot say that its replacement, a modern, non classic architectural structure that seems to have sprung up overnight has captured my heart. Unless the computers are offline, or the internet connection down they don’t really need a librarian, libraries have gone D.I.Y.

I prefer the old to the new. Having said that I like my eReader, a Library I can hold in my hand.

The scripture quoted is the last verse of John’s Gospel and I am wondering that his reaction would have been to Kindles, Kobo’s, laptops, macs, pcs and the internet? So many ways to store, read, study and pass on God’s word.

I smile and wonder some more, I am reading the opening verse of John’s Gospel:

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”(John 1:1)

One Word!

Can my heart, can your heart be big enough to hold the Word of God?

The picture is the new, as yet unfinished library in the City of Birmingham

20130804-230844.jpg

Published by

whisperingleavesblog

I'm grateful to God for all the blessings of this life but a pilgrim on earth and a stranger. Blessed with many friendships, happy to be a friend to all who are seeking ....

7 thoughts on “Room For The Books”

    1. ebooks are certainly a good way to save space, some books you just don’t want to part with. I have noticed that many of my favourite writers with WordPress publish for kindle, so am Hoping to get a kindle to go with my kobo. Thank you for your visit and kind comment.

Leave a Reply

