The Quiet Hour

When were you last still and quiet, or totally absorbed in a book?

Quietness for me when in home is no problem. I live alone and can choose to be quiet, put on music, switch on TV or radio, as I please. Being still is another matter. Because a great deal of my time is spent outside home with church chores or admin, time in home is likely to be filled with cleaning, laundry and other stuff, that we all know really ‘needs’ to be done. Busy bee that I am, I rather fancy myself to have grown adept to listening out for God as I work. To be honest, though, I feel that is cheating and although it is possible to pray whilst doing the ironing, (in my own case), this is not so easy as it sounds, prayer and ironing can lead to scorch marks!

20131020-223630.jpg

I like the painting, called The Quiet Hour by Dod Proctor, painted in oil on canvas in 1935 (76 x 63.5 cm) it’s in the New Art Gallery, Walsall, U.K.

This is this lady’s down-time, her Quiet Hour; and she is taking it: everything else put on hold for just one hour.

Now, if anyone had ever suggested to Michelangelo, Raphael, Gwen John, that it was possible to produce their wonderful art whilst doing the ironing, what would they have replied?

Generally speaking, us girls are proud to be credited with our multi-tasking skills, but !!!

We are included in this invitation (Matthew11: 28-30)
Come to me, all you who are wearied and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden light”

A restful hour with Jesus so much better than ironing!

I pray that all who might read this whose days are just so full of waiting on others, nursing babies or those who are ill that He who gave us this invitation and promise will give you that rest, that little time for yourself that you deserve, He loves you for your love and busy care for others, and waits to give you rest, next time you are ironing just look up and smile … Jesus does smile back, I know, been there, ruined the “T” shirt.

Published by

whisperingleavesblog

I'm grateful to God for all the blessings of this life but a pilgrim on earth and a stranger. Blessed with many friendships, happy to be a friend to all who are seeking ....

6 thoughts on “The Quiet Hour”

  1. This was absolutely perfect for my Monday morning. My favorite times are in the morning; precious time spent with my Lord. Blessings on your day, sweet friend!!

  2. I love the painting that you included with your beautiful words. The ‘hear and ponder’ Mary-like moments are what strengthen me to dance through (rather than drag through) the dailiness of family life. It’s the restful moments of laughter at the dinner table that reward me at the end of each day. Again, I love the painting you chose. 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  3. Thank you incredibly much for liking my blog…it’s always nice to have new followers, and people who enjoy the words I write. I certainly have had a good time rummaging around your own blog…so much good writing in here. It’s my pleasure to follow you back! Have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

