The Joy That We share

I come to the garden alone
While the dew is still on roses
And the voice I hear falling
On my ear the son of God discloses

And He walks with me and He talks with me
And He tells me I am His own
And the joy we share as we tarry there
None other has ever known

He speaks and the sound of His voice
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing
And the melody that He gave to me
Within my heart is ringing

And He walks with me and He talks with me
And He tells me I am His own
And the joy we share as we tarry there
None other has ever known

(Merle Haggard)

This has been a sad, long and hard week.

To the people of the Philippines devastating, overwhelming, sorrow beyond telling, it was so good to see on the news last night, the first plane from the U.S. touching down, the herald of hope. In my own little world there is sadness too, but not like theirs, at the Seder kept by Jewish friends they
dip bitter herbs into sweet Haroset, which calls to mind that life is like that bitter mingled with the sweet, sadness with joy.

The words I chose at the beginning were sung at a funeral service in church yesterday, the lady had reached her 83rd year and from what was said they had been good ones, but I daresay that there had also been times of grief along the way, “I come to the Garden alone” I keep these words in mind we all come to be alone with our sadness, and joy sometime, and yet to those who know The Lord, we are not alone, we have been promised ‘I am with you always, even to the end of the world’

Now this is a precious promise, welcome, oh so welcome, the voice of the Beloved in the Garden, I think about The Lord Jesus and His last walk to a garden his friends went with him, but left Him alone while they slept for weariness and sorrow. An angel came and strengthened him. I am sure that angels are doing that work in the Philippines now, and yes some have human faces and, hands but He walks with them and talks to them Himself may He give to them a taste of the joy which is shared amongst the angels in the a Kingdom of God, and may their lost loved ones Rest in Peace and Rise in Glory!

20131115-102039.jpg

Published by

whisperingleavesblog

I'm grateful to God for all the blessings of this life but a pilgrim on earth and a stranger. Blessed with many friendships, happy to be a friend to all who are seeking ....

2 thoughts on “The Joy That We share”

Leave a Reply

