Tomorrow it’s Lent, tonight it’s laughter

At the end of a busy day, we had our Traditional Shrove Tuesday supper, complete with pancakes in the church hall, there was plenty of fun and laughter, and folk were reluctant to part company – just as it should be – being together, really together, listening, intently to woes as well seeing the funny side of them. Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday and my church together with thousands more will hold a service of Holy Communion and Imposition of Ashes, all who kneel at the altar rail will be marked with the sign of the cross, a big black cross of ash from the burning of last years cross, a sign that we are sorry for the sins that our Saviour carried on Calvary’s Cross.

Somehow we just know that Christ was in the midst of tonight’s supper, he was in the smiles exchanged, present to the man in the wheel chair, present in the waiting on of tables and the preparing of food by older church members who were just pleased to help, to be of service… Sacred as times in church are, there are other ways of waiting on Jesus – other ways of declaring our faith… Perhaps the grace which we said together sums that up, it is certainly food for thought, not just for the season of Lent but every day.

I was hungry: And you gave me food.
I was thirsty; And you gave me drink.
I was a stranger: And you welcomed me.
I was naked: And you clothed me.
I was ill: And you comforted me.
I was in jail: And you came to see me.
Lord Jesus Christ make our Lenten offerings turn us toward all our brothers and sisters who are in need. Bless this table, our good food, and ourselves. Send us through Lent with good cheer, and bring us to the fullness of your Passover.
In the name of the Father, and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Send us through Lent with good cheer… Whatever good we do, whatever we give, every little act of kindness done with a cheerful heart, brings us closer to the true Passover and the Breaking of Bread in our Father’s house.

May your Lent be blessed!

20140304-222942.jpg

Published by

whisperingleavesblog

I'm grateful to God for all the blessings of this life but a pilgrim on earth and a stranger. Blessed with many friendships, happy to be a friend to all who are seeking ....

One thought on “Tomorrow it’s Lent, tonight it’s laughter”

Leave a Reply

